A collection of 70 national and local newspapers from the United Kingdom and Ireland. The collection is full-text and searchable, including images that appeared in the newspapers. Over three million pages have been digitized and include stories on international, national, and local events, as well as information about trends, fashions, social movements, and science.
You are browsing tag : primary
Covers African-American experiences before the Civil War through the Civil Rights Movement, and up to the end of the 20th century. Includes more than 270 newspapers (published by or for African Americans) from 35 states, and provides access to both full-text and images.
Collection of significant historical Kansas newspapers from the time before Kansas was a state, to the recent past. Includes complete, searchable issues.
Provides firsthand accounts from politicians, generals, soldiers, prisoners, slaves, and other historical figures both famous and unknown, giving the Northern, Southern, and foreign perspectives. Includes over 100,000 pages of source material and 4,000 pages of facsimiles of previously unpublished manuscripts.
Includes newsreels, government and commercial films, and significant documentaries on various topics in American History. Contains 440 hours and more than 1,400 titles of videos.
Over 1,500 periodicals published in America between 1741 and 1941, with articles on topics such as arts, business, health & medicine, science and technology. Includes graphic elements and article layouts.
The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library provides comprehensive electronic access to all ASTM standards, journals, symposia papers and selected technical papers, data series, and manuals. Covers aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
The database may ask you to agree to terms of a license agreement. Click yes and proceed.
Contains more than 1,642 plays by more than 233 black playwrights. Also includes theatre and production information for selected plays and authors.
Search U.S. newspapers published between 1836 and 1922. Excellent database of primary source material.
A collection of more than 80,000 declassified documents on 31 different topics dealing with national security. Researchers can browse through collections or perform key word searching on the full text of documents. Bibliographies and chronologies have been added for context and further research.
Browse the full text of books, pamphlets, broadsides, and other materials printed in the United States between 1639 and 1819. The collection is made up of two separate series; Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; and Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819.
Personal accounts from traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials. Includes narratives, diaries, journals, and letters from 1534 to 1850. Includes maps and images.
Contains images of works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America from 1473-1700. Exhaustive resource on the first books in English from the ages of Spenser, Shakespeare, and the English Civil War.
Includes eighteenth century collections on history and geography, social sciences, religion and philosophy, fine arts, literature and language, law, medicine, science, and technology. Includes more than 32 million pages, 182,000 titles, and 205,000 volumes.
The ESTC serves as a comprehensive bibliography of material printed in Britain and its colonies in any language up to 1800. Also includes materials printed globally in English during that time period.
This database indexes European works published between 1493 and 1750 that relate to the Americas. More than 32,000 entries are included, ranging from Native Americans to wildlife to diseases. Users can identify publications on their topics, then obtain the full text elsewhere.
The resources cover topics like food safety, sustainability, healthcare, the impact of economic development on international relations and include news articles, videos, government documents and other primary source materials as well as interactive maps, refereed case studies, multimedia and so on. The information is arranged in 3 sections – issue, organization or country.
Harper’s Weekly was one of the leading literary and news publications of 19th century America. It was noted for its use of illustrations and carried information on a variety of topics to a national audience. Searchers can search the full text of articles and retrieve both images and text files of relevant stories.
Digitized version of the New York Times since its first issue in 1851. Search the full text of articles to find articles on a wide variety of topics.
Infotrac Newsstand is a full text collection of over 2700 newspapers published between 1980 and the present. National and major regional newspapers from around the United States, as well as important newspapers from around the world, are included. Users can search by newspaper title, headline, date, section, or other fields.
Access the full-text of documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Sources include national and regional newspapers, wire services, and broadcast transcripts from around the world. Legal materials include federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information.
Collection of restored newsreels originally shown in theaters between 1935 and 1967, including scenes of science, social movements, war, entertainment, and more. Browse by subject, event, or keyword. Transcriptions provided.
A general interest database with periodicals, photos, maps, flags, primary source documents, and reference books. Subjects covered include business, health, education, general science, and multicultural issues.
Provides online access to millions of records, maps, photos, and documents held by the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the nation’s official record keeper. In addition to famous documents such as the Declaration of Independence, it includes individual military records and naturalization records, letters from public officials, treaties, charters, manifests, diary entries, and many other historical artifacts.
Contains more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, television and radio news transcripts, videos, and podcasts from around the world.
Collection of primary materials from the nineteenth century on all kinds of topics. Fully searchable documents, books, images, maps, and other types of materials. Societies from around the world are profiled, as well as issues such as women’s rights, science, technology, politics, and business.
Search complete issues of more than 500 U.S. newspapers published during the 19th century. Search by keyword to find images and text from rural and urban papers from different geographical areas of the country.
Primary source documents from immigrants who have come from virtually all over the world. Personal narratives, including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories from 1840 to the present.
Historical resources on nearly 500 North American groups. Autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files. Includes 2,000 oral histories in audio and transcript form, and more than 20,000 photos.
Rich collection of works produced by women playwrights, containing over 1,500 plays by over 330 authors. Also includes playbills, photographs, and other resources of interest.
Letters and diaries detailing the personal lives and experiences hundreds of women spanning over 300 years. Includes over 1,500 biographies. Ideal for research in women’s studies, history, sociology, literature, genealogy, as well as other disciplines.
Find diverse viewpoints on the Civil War through pamphlets, and complete runs of regional newspapers from 1840 to 1865.
Search Congressional hearings, public issues, legislation, and legal research. Includes the full-text of detailed information about Congress, expert testimony on the leading issues of the day, and federal regulations. Includes Serial Set and American State Papers. (Formerly LexisNexis Congressional).
Indexes popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States from 1890 through 1982. Includes citations for more than 3 million articles from 375 magazines.
The International Inventory of Musical Sources – Répertoire International des Sources Musicales (RISM) – inventories primary sources are manuscripts or printed music, writings on music theory, and libretti. Resources are housed in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections and RISM documents written musical sources and where they can be found. Their motto: “Knowing what exists and where it is kept.”
Search Joseph Sabin’s bibliography of works on life and culture in North America from 1500 to 1926. Includes more than 29,000 full-text works, books, pamphlets, broadsides, and serials on topics such as Native Americas, agriculture, slavery and abolition.
An encyclopedia of the world’s musical and aural traditions. The collection provides an unprecedented variety of online resources that include diverse musical forms, historical speeches, poets and authors reading their own works, and an extensive children’s collection.
The complete issues of more than two hundred years of The Times of London are available for key word searching by users, including articles, advertisements, and illustrations. Coverage of specific events and trends can be reviewed, providing a contemporary view to modern researchers.
Examines perspectives on women’s social movements from colonial times to the present. Brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women’s activism in public life.