AGRIS provides an international view of agriculture, especially information on agriculture in developing countries. The database includes information on animal husbandry, forestry, range management and human nutrition, and extension literature from over 100 countries. It also includes unpublished scientific and technical reports, theses, conference papers, and government publications.
You are browsing tag : free
Biographies, discographies and album reviews for jazz and popular music.
This collection includes full-text PDFs of current and back issues of publications by scientists and their colleagues from the American Museum of Natural History (AMNH) in the areas of zoological systematics, paleontology, geology, evolution, and anthropology.
Provides open access to over 900,000 e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics. Content is submitted by authors/scientists. Formerly known as the Los Alamos arXIv pre-print/e-print service.
This free online version of the BdSL (frequently referred to as Eppelsheimer-Köttelwesch) allows the user to search bibliographies and index of publications on German language and literacy studies from 1985-1995. Print versions from 1957 to 2003 are located in the Hale Stacks at Z2231 E65.
Provides citations and abstracts from 1975-2007 for articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition catalogs, focusing on European and American art from late antiquity to the present. This bilingual database encompasses writings on the visual arts including traditional fine arts (ceramics, drawing, painting, prints, sculpture, etc.), architecture and industrial design, and decorative and applied arts (crafts, folk art, graphic arts, etc.). For material published after 2007 see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA) database.
BRENDA is the main collection of enzyme functional data available. Data on enzyme function are extracted directly from the primary literature. The data collection is being developed into a metabolic network information system with links to Enzyme expression and regulation information.
This is the official source of bibliographic information for U.S. Government publications. Users can search multiple government databases at once, sorting results by agency, subject, title or keyword.
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database maintained by the Royal Society of Chemistry, providing access to over 34 million structures, properties, and associated chemical data. Chemicals may be searched according to name or identified by structure (manual drawing or uploaded structure), while links to references, physical properties, spectra data, and chemical suppliers are included for more advanced research capabilities.
This free database contains resources from disciplines related to child care and early education, including research reports, fact sheets and briefs, datasets, instruments and measures, citations for scholarly journal articles and books, grey literature, government documents, and more.
Search U.S. newspapers published between 1836 and 1922. Excellent database of primary source material.
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. The reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
CRIS (Current Research Information System) is the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) documentation and reporting system for ongoing and recently completed research projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry. CRIS contains over 30,000 descriptions of current, publicly supported agricultural and forestry research projects of the USDA agencies, the State Agricultural Experiment Stations, the state university land-grant system, and other cooperating state institutions.
DART Europe is a partnership of 523 universities, providing researchers with a single portal to discover European theses and dissertations with a wide range of topics and publication dates. The electronic theses and dissertations are open access with full text downloading and saving options.
This free resource provides public access to data sets created by the federal government. Includes searchable catalogs that can be access in XML, Text/CSV, KML/KMX, Feeds, MLS, or ESRI Shapefile formats.
DZ publishes the full past issues of German journals in a wide variety of subjects. While KSU does not have the paid version, many of the titles are freely available under open access principles, and the search works for all journals free or not, making DZ a useful indexing tool for 19th- and early 20th-century German periodicals.
Full text of theses, dissertations, and reports submitted by K-State graduate students. Papers are typically available by the end of the semester in which the student graduated. Full coverage begins in Fall 2006 for doctoral dissertations and Fall 2007 for masters papers. Limited availability before 2006.
Covers human usage of plants including topics like ethnobotany, plant domestication, and the medical & industrial uses of plants. To access: see Kew Bibliographic Databases.
Contains full text of reports companies are required to file with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. Find company financial data, information about mergers and business activities, bankruptcy petition disclosures, and executive compensation data.
The Encyclopædia Iranica is a comprehensive research tool dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent. Subject coverage includes Iranian history, culture, languages, and literature.
The ESTC serves as a comprehensive bibliography of material printed in Britain and its colonies in any language up to 1800. Also includes materials printed globally in English during that time period.
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books. Includes full-text ERIC digests and links to some full-text articles. ERIC also uses an excellent thesaurus. When a citation lacks full-text and has an ED number, you may request the microfiche by ED number at the 2nd floor help desk.
This database indexes European works published between 1493 and 1750 that relate to the Americas. More than 32,000 entries are included, ranging from Native Americans to wildlife to diseases. Users can identify publications on their topics, then obtain the full text elsewhere.
The Government Printing Office (GPO) provides public access to government documents including Congressional reports, hearings, debates and records; judiciary materials; and documents released by the Executive office. This website replaces GPO Access.
Indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. Note: this grant-funded index covers only 1976-2001. For newer literature on film, consult databases such as the International Index to the Performing Arts.
Find monographic and serial holdings of the library of Deutscher Bundestag. This database provides indexing for journals and government publications not included in other European databases on a variety of topics of relevance to federal parliament, such as medical ethics, democratic systems, German unity, globalization, economics, foreign relations, and military issues.
Global Development Finance provides external debt and financial flow data for 135 countries. Time series for 216 indicators are available from 1970. GDF also includes topical country data and regional aggregates. Data sets can be customized and downloaded.
A growing collection of books Google has received digitally from publishers or scanned from the shelves of one of its library partners. This is an excellent resource for reading books in the public domain (generally those published before 1922), for reading selections of copyrighted books, and for identifying books about a particular subject. Books that K-State doesn’t own can be requested by submitting an Interlibrary Loan request.
This is an international collection of content from newspapers, magazines, legal archives, and news archives. If you are looking for primary source material about an event or person from the past two centuries, this is an excellent place to look.
Google Scholar is a useful tool for searching through a very broad scope of articles; however, be aware that they aren’t actually all “scholarly.” Look for the text “Get It @ K-State” instead of the usual “GetIt” button to search for the full text of articles that don’t have an included PDF. It may be found under “more” below the record.
Browse digital versions of award-winning books presented by the American Historical Association and the Columbia University Press.
The U.S. Dept. of Homeland Security’s Digital Library includes material from Federal, State, international and private sources related to security policy, strategy, and management. Content is primarily current with some historical material. To access the Restricted Collection and take advantage of special options, users must set up an individual HSDL account.
This National Library of Medicine database contains hazardous chemical data on a large number of household products such as cleaning materials, pesticides, cosmetics, etc. Searching can be done by product types, ingredients, and the big ones, company or product names.
Search approximately 100,000 citations from German periodicals. The database spans a variety of topics from 1750-1815. Includes a bilingual German/English interface.
Browse an international collection of books, articles, pamphlets, and other documents contributed by governments, libraries, and other organizations. It includes many of the most popular works of literature and scholarship as well as a host of lesser known gems. Each of its items can be viewed, downloaded, and printed for free.
Formerly titled Journalism Abstracts, Journalism and Mass Communications Abstracts includes abstracts of dissertations and theses accepted for graduate degrees. Print copies of the abstracts (1994-1999) are also located in the Stacks (PN4725.J67).
The institutional repository for Kansas State University provides permanent access to scholarly materials created by our faculty and students, including dissertations, theses, and master’s reports. In support of the principles of Open Access, materials in K-REx are freely available to all and comply with publisher agreements and copyright law.
Search the catalogs of Kansas libraries. Access materials held at various state-wide education and community institutions, including fiction and nonfiction books, ebooks, audio books, and more.
Allows combined access to three databases: the Kew Record of Taxonomic Literature, the Plant Micromorphology Bibliography, and the Economic Botany Bibliography. A simple search retrieves only 30 records. Register for free to access advanced searching capabilities and the retrieval of a larger number of records.
Indexes 200,000 publications relating to plant taxonomy. To access: See Kew Bibliographic Databases.
Maintained by the National Library of Medicine, MedlinePlus includes information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources. It contains references to the latest health professional articles, a medical encyclopedia and dictionary, and drug information.
Provides online access to millions of records, maps, photos, and documents held by the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the nation’s official record keeper. In addition to famous documents such as the Declaration of Independence, it includes individual military records and naturalization records, letters from public officials, treaties, charters, manifests, diary entries, and many other historical artifacts.
Find data collected by The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
A database of government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information. Covers more than 350 subject areas from over 200 federal agencies. Although the NTIS offers documents for sale, many are available at K-State Libraries or through Interlibrary Loan. Search the library catalog for any titles found in the NTIS before purchasing.
Contains definitive thermodynamic values over a wide range of temperatures. These values include key temperature-dependent thermochemical properties including heat capacity, enthalpy, entropy, Gibbs’ energy function, enthalpy of formation, Gibbs’ (free) energy of formation, transition data, fusion data, vaporization data, sublimation data, and the logarithm of the equilibrium constant of formation for over 47 elements and their associated compounds.
A catalog of millions of freely-available, open access digital resources from thousands of contributors. Find various digitized books, journal articles, newspapers, audio and video files, photographs, data sets, and theses and research papers.
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database created by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at the George Institute for Global Health. PEDro contains more than 30,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews, and clinical practice guidelines in the area of physiotherapy.
Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress (PILOTS) is produced by the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction,Vermont, and is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Document types covered include journals, books, book chapters, pamphlets, technical reports, and materials in all languages.
Contains 90,000 references to publications covering the micromorphology of higher plants. To access: see Kew Bibliographic Databases.
PlantFacts merged several digital collections from Ohio State University. It contains an Internet search engine dealing strictly with plants along with images of ornamental plants, turf, plant diseases, and insects. Over 200 gardening how-to videos are available.
The Plantwise Knowledge Bank is a global resource to help combat plant health problems. Select your location from the menu above to view country- or region-specific plant health information. You may use the diagnostic tool to find out what problem might be affecting your crop; use the site search to find information on management of pests and diseases; or use the map to view the distribution of up to three pest or crop species at a time.
PubAg, created by the National Agricultural Library, is a portal to USDA-authored and other relevant agricultural research. At launch in 2015, it delivered over 40,000 full-text journal articles by USDA staff and citations to an additional 340,000 articles and continues to add citations and articles each month. The initial release also previews its directions for intended functionality and will serve as the foundation for further enhancements.
PubMed is a free service of the National Library of Medicine that includes over 21 million citations from Medline and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles.
The International Inventory of Musical Sources – Répertoire International des Sources Musicales (RISM) – inventories primary sources are manuscripts or printed music, writings on music theory, and libretti. Resources are housed in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections and RISM documents written musical sources and where they can be found. Their motto: “Knowing what exists and where it is kept.”
Search a collection of databases on hazardous chemicals, toxic releases, and environmental health. Can conduct simultaneous searches for multiple databases (ChemIDplus, CCRIS, DART, Gene-Tox, Haz-Map, Household Products Database, HSDB, IRIS, ITER, LactMed, TOXLINE, TOXMAP, TRI).
Search U.S. government technical reports issued primarily prior to 1976. Agency reports include the Atomic Energy Commission, National Bureau of Standards Monograph Series, and the US Bureau of Mines.
TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide and is comprised of the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development’s (OECD) Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.
Access to development indicators for more than 200 countries. Search or browse data sets from a number of access points, or view news articles and country profiles.
Provides firm-level data in emerging markets and developing economies for over 130,000 firms in 135 countries. Data are used to create indicators that benchmark the quality of the business and investment climates across countries. Data include surveys on topics such as finance, infrastructure, sales, competition, crime, business-government relations, labor, and performance.
Access international development information such as national economies, population, natural resources, the environment, and more. Includes 54 time series indicators from more than 200 countries and 18 country groups, since 1960.