Harper’s Weekly was one of the leading literary and news publications of 19th century America. It was noted for its use of illustrations and carried information on a variety of topics to a national audience. Searchers can search the full text of articles and retrieve both images and text files of relevant stories.
You are browsing databases starting with "H"
A preservation repository with millions of volumes digitized by Google, the Internet Archive, and HathiTrust’s partner institutions. Approximately one-third of the volumes are in the public domain and can be viewed in their entirety. K-State faculty, staff, and students who login to HathiTrust with their K-State eID can download full-text pdfs of these public domain works.
Medicine, health, and alternative medicine topics are covered. Provides access to medical journal and magazine articles, a medical encyclopedia, and dictionary. Directories of medical organizations and drugs are provided along with a health assessment tool.
Provides references, abstracts, and full text from health publications. Includes a medical dictionary; medical directories and reference books; consumer-oriented and professional health periodicals; and pamphlets issued by health organizations.
Useful for genealogical research. Contains images from complete U.S. Federal Censuses from 1790-1930. Search by name, state, place of birth, age, and ethnicity. Includes collection of keyword searchable family and local history books, index to periodicals, and records of soldiers in the Revolutionary War.
Indexes and abstracts approximately 1700 journals covering world history since 1450, excluding America and Canada. Journals include titles from 90 countries, published in 40 different languages. Books and dissertations have been indexed since 1980. Historical Abstracts provides full-text links to nearly 76,000 articles available through various online databases.
Digitized version of the New York Times since its first issue in 1851. Search the full text of articles to find articles on a wide variety of topics.
Full text history reference database which provides full text for over 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers, and more than 150 leading history periodicals. Also includes thousands of historical documents, biographies of historical figures, maps and photos, and hours of historical video.
The U.S. Dept. of Homeland Security’s Digital Library includes material from Federal, State, international and private sources related to security policy, strategy, and management. Content is primarily current with some historical material. To access the Restricted Collection and take advantage of special options, users must set up an individual HSDL account.
Research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism, both domestic and international; full-text coverage of more than 200 publications in subjects including hospitality law, hotel management, and market trends.
The House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (HCCP) includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. HCPP delivers page images and searchable full text for each paper, along with detailed indexing. K-State provides access to the following modules: 18th century, 19th century, 20th century, 21st century (2000-2014), and the Hansard (1803-2005).
This National Library of Medicine database contains hazardous chemical data on a large number of household products such as cleaning materials, pesticides, cosmetics, etc. Searching can be done by product types, ingredients, and the big ones, company or product names.
Fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the humanities, sponsored by the American Council of Learned Societies. Titles consist of new books in electronic-only format and time-tested works originally published in paper but converted to electronic format.