This searchable collection of electronic reference books covers topics such as business, environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, and science.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music provides more than 9,000 pages of reference material in 10 volumes, serving as an authoritative resource for regional information, musical heritage, traditions, genres, practices, and performances. Articles contain photographs of musicians, as well musical instruments, maps, and drawings, with added insights to cultural practices of dance rituals and ceremonies. Each volume concentrates on a specific global region, making it one of the most substantial and current reference resources on world music.
Look at gender roles through current and historical lenses in more than 230 academic, gray and popular literature titles.
Citations, abstracts and some full-text articles from business and management periodicals. Includes directory listings as well as investment analysts’ reports.
This is a good starting place for finding articles on almost any topic from journals, magazines, newspapers, or reference works. Full-text and/or scanned pdfs are included for many of the articles it indexes. Searches can be easily limited to articles from peer-reviewed (aka scholarly, academic, refereed or professional) publications. The Subject Guide Search is especially useful for browsing subdivisions of a topic.
This is a multidisciplinary, international database of human and physical geography, ecology, geology, oceanography, geomechanics and development studies. Includes refereed papers, trade journals, and magazine articles.
Covers the world’s technical literature on geology and geophysics from 13,000 serials, U.S. Geological Survey publications, and dissertations. Corresponds to the print publications Bibliography and Index of Geology, Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America, Bibliography and Index of North American Geology, and Geophysical Abstracts.
Find monographic and serial holdings of the library of Deutscher Bundestag. This database provides indexing for journals and government publications not included in other European databases on a variety of topics of relevance to federal parliament, such as medical ethics, democratic systems, German unity, globalization, economics, foreign relations, and military issues.
Global Development Finance provides external debt and financial flow data for 135 countries. Time series for 216 indicators are available from 1970. GDF also includes topical country data and regional aggregates. Data sets can be customized and downloaded.
Produced by CABI, this database contains more than 2 million records covering all aspects of public health at both international and community levels. Includes more than 6,000 journals, books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, patents, and theses from over 100 countries in 50 languages. Subject coverage includes: biomedical life sciences, chronic diseases, diagnosis and disease therapy, environmental and occupational health epidemiology, biostatistics, health systems, infectious diseases and parasitology, nutrition, and tropical health.
This resource provides access to demographic, economic, and marketing statistics for 205 countries. Users can download data pertaining to consumer behavior and national economic conditions, then create customized reports. Search by topic for analyst’s reports, country profiles, and more. A K-State eID and password are required to use this resource.
A growing collection of books Google has received digitally from publishers or scanned from the shelves of one of its library partners. This is an excellent resource for reading books in the public domain (generally those published before 1922), for reading selections of copyrighted books, and for identifying books about a particular subject. Books that K-State doesn’t own can be requested by submitting an Interlibrary Loan request.
This is an international collection of content from newspapers, magazines, legal archives, and news archives. If you are looking for primary source material about an event or person from the past two centuries, this is an excellent place to look.
Non-K-Staters: use this link
Google Scholar is a useful tool for searching through a very broad scope of articles; however, be aware that they aren’t actually all “scholarly.” Look for the text “Get It @ K-State” instead of the usual “GetIt” button to search for the full text of articles that don’t have an included PDF. It may be found under “more” below the record.
Non-K-Staters: use this link Mobile Link
GreenFILE resources examine the connection between humans and the environment, from both positive and negative perspectives. 200 scholarly and general interest titles covering agriculture, education, law, health and technology are included.
The resources cover topics like food safety, sustainability, healthcare, the impact of economic development on international relations and include news articles, videos, government documents and other primary source materials as well as interactive maps, refereed case studies, multimedia and so on. The information is arranged in 3 sections – issue, organization or country.
Browse digital versions of award-winning books presented by the American Historical Association and the Columbia University Press.