Search Congressional hearings, public issues, legislation, and legal research. Includes the full-text of detailed information about Congress, expert testimony on the leading issues of the day, and federal regulations. Includes Serial Set and American State Papers. (Formerly LexisNexis Congressional).
You are browsing Government & Law
Most Important Databases
Access the full-text of documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Sources include national and regional newspapers, wire services, and broadcast transcripts from around the world. Legal materials include federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information.
The Government Printing Office (GPO) provides public access to government documents including Congressional reports, hearings, debates and records; judiciary materials; and documents released by the Executive office. This website replaces GPO Access.
Other Helpful Databases
This is the official source of bibliographic information for U.S. Government publications. Users can search multiple government databases at once, sorting results by agency, subject, title or keyword.
CIAO is a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It includes working papers from university research institutes, information from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
Single-themed reports on current issues from Congressional Quarterly Press dating back to 1923. Topics include social trends, health concerns, the economy, education, and technology. Reports provide overview, background, pro/con arguments, chronologies, current situation and bibliographies of additional sources.
This free resource provides public access to data sets created by the federal government. Includes searchable catalogs that can be access in XML, Text/CSV, KML/KMX, Feeds, MLS, or ESRI Shapefile formats.
Includes eighteenth century collections on history and geography, social sciences, religion and philosophy, fine arts, literature and language, law, medicine, science, and technology. Includes more than 32 million pages, 182,000 titles, and 205,000 volumes.
An analytical database of worldwide economic indicators and forecasts, providing more than 300 series for 150 countries and 45 regional aggregates, dating from 1980. Select series include GDP, demographics and income, foreign payments, and commodities. Data can be manipulated, displayed, graphed, analyzed and downloaded in various formats.
EIU Country Reports provide comprehensive updates on the latest economic, political, and market conditions for nearly 200 countries. Each report highlights major business events, analyzes recent political and economic developments.
The U.S. Dept. of Homeland Security’s Digital Library includes material from Federal, State, international and private sources related to security policy, strategy, and management. Content is primarily current with some historical material. To access the Restricted Collection and take advantage of special options, users must set up an individual HSDL account.
The Legal Collection contains hundreds of the world’s most respected scholarly law journals (full-text), covering topics on criminal justice, ethics, international law, federal law, medical jurisprudence, labor and human resource law, organized crime, the environment, and more. Complete runs of some law reviews are also included.
Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Contains nearly 300 full-text periodicals and journals dating back to the beginning of the 20th century. Indexes and abstracts available for 400 additional journals.
Provides online access to millions of records, maps, photos, and documents held by the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the nation’s official record keeper. In addition to famous documents such as the Declaration of Independence, it includes individual military records and naturalization records, letters from public officials, treaties, charters, manifests, diary entries, and many other historical artifacts.
A database of government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information. Covers more than 350 subject areas from over 200 federal agencies. Although the NTIS offers documents for sale, many are available at K-State Libraries or through Interlibrary Loan. Search the library catalog for any titles found in the NTIS before purchasing.
Records on essential areas such as conflict resolution, international affairs, and peace psychology.
Search U.S. government technical reports issued primarily prior to 1976. Agency reports include the Atomic Energy Commission, National Bureau of Standards Monograph Series, and the US Bureau of Mines.
Search full-images of microfilmed Washington Post papers. Search by date and page, but not by keyword. Print, email, and save the PDF pages.