The electronic version of Engineering Index, Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research available today, containing over eight million references and abstracts taken from over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports dating back to 1969.
You are browsing Engineering
Most Important Databases
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching. It does not contain full text articles, but users can get access to full text by using the Get It button.
Contains over 2000 digital versions of books in scientific and engineering fields. Browse by subject or title, or search across part or all of the collection by keyword.
Other Helpful Databases
A comprehensive collection of full-text articles from the Association of Computing Machinery, including journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings. Bibliographic citations and full-text articles from major publications in computing are also available, complemented by more than 6,000 video files and 500 audio files.
Addresses “art” in the broadest sense including topics relevant to archaeology, architecture, art history, ceramics, fashion design, graphic arts, interior design, landscape architecture, metalsmithing, photography, sculpture, textiles and more. Includes content from international arts journals, periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.
A growing digital image library offering searchable collections of images and descriptive information, encompassing many time periods and world cultures. Includes objects relevant to fields such as architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, history and ethnographic and women’s studies, and addresses many other forms of visual culture. Best viewed in Internet Explorer. Enable browser pop-ups in order to use all the features of ARTstor.
Includes over 1,500 information resources from the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers, such as technical papers from meetings and conferences, peer-reviewed journal articles, textbooks, reference books, and standards.
This resource provides unprecedented access to more than 33,000 full-text papers from the American Society of Civil Engineers’ journals and conference proceedings. All proceedings articles require using Interlibrary Services to obtain the full-text document.
The American Society for Metals (ASM) Handbooks Online is one of the most comprehensive sources on ferrous and non-ferrous metals and materials technology. This resource includes the complete content of twenty-eight ASM Handbook volumes, ASM Handbook supplements, and ASM Desk Editions, with illustrations, tables, graphs, specifications, and practical examples.
The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library provides comprehensive electronic access to all ASTM standards, journals, symposia papers and selected technical papers, data series, and manuals. Covers aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
The database may ask you to agree to terms of a license agreement. Click yes and proceed.
Published by the Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library at Columbia University, this databases offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Article descriptions cover American and international journals from scholarly and popular periodical literature, publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and the major serials on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
CAB Abstracts contains the citations and abstracts for articles in thousands of English and foreign language journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, theses, and patents. Disciplines covered are agriculture; environmental sciences; health and nutrition; microbiology and parasitology; and recreation, leisure, and tourism. Global Health contains public health information from the community level to the international level. Topics include bacterial, viral and prion diseases; parasitology; disease vectors; zoonotic diseases; nutrition and food safety; social science and health service; medicinal plants; environmental and rural health.
Includes crystal structure information for organic molecules and metal-organic compounds whose structure is known from X-ray diffraction or neutron diffraction. Records for the molecules or compounds include information on publications in the literature as well as chemical and crystallographic information.
Find funding opportunities for disciplines including research, travel, curriculum development, equipment acquisition, and more. Includes private foundations, public agencies, governments, and corporations. Updated daily and easily searchable. (Formerly COS Expertise and COS Funding Opportunities)
Coverage of the environmental sciences from scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, books, and government publications. Includes agricultural biotechnology, air quality, ecology, energy resources, environmental engineering, environmental impact statements, hazardous waste, pollution, and toxicology & toxic emissions.
Find information on ergonomics and human factors as well as related material from psychology, physiology, biomechanics, job design, human-computer interaction, safety science, human engineering, medicine, occupational health, sport, and transport. Contains more than 104,000 records.
This is a multidisciplinary, international database of human and physical geography, ecology, geology, oceanography, geomechanics and development studies. Includes refereed papers, trade journals, and magazine articles.
Covers the world’s technical literature on geology and geophysics from 13,000 serials, U.S. Geological Survey publications, and dissertations. Corresponds to the print publications Bibliography and Index of Geology, Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America, Bibliography and Index of North American Geology, and Geophysical Abstracts.
IEEE Xplore provides access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics published through the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers) societies. This resource contains full-text documents from IEEE and IEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, e-books, conference proceedings, and technical standards.
Available through IEEE Xplore, access full-text content pertaining to cutting-edge technologies in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. The collection of over 700 titles includes handbooks, introductory and advanced texts, reference books, and professional books.
Provides access to the world’s scientific literature (bibliographic citations and indexed abstracts) from publications in the fields of physics, electrical and electronic engineering, communications, computer science, control engineering, information technology, manufacturing and mechanical engineering, operations research, materials science, oceanography, engineering mathematics, nuclear engineering, environmental science, geophysics, nanotechnology, biomedical technology, and biophysics. It indexes journals, conference proceedings, and books.
This electronic version of the 4th edition of the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology includes more than 1200 full text articles. Tables, figures, CAS Registry Numbers, and chemical structures appear with the articles. Articles cover chemical substances, industrial processes, uses, fundamentals, chemical engineering processes, foods, pharmaceuticals, dyes, and fibers.
A database of contemporary materials used in industry, construction, and other aspects of life. It provides information about the properties of the materials, current uses, their producers and places of production.
Created by the Transportation Research Board, RiP allows you to search more than 12,000 current or recently completed transportation research projects, most funded by Federal and State Departments of Transportation.
Safari Books Online offers full text books about computer technology. O’Reilly is the primary publisher, but Safari features other publishers, including Peachpit Press, New Riders, Sams, Adobe Press, and Packt, among others. K-State users have access to the Current Collection of approximately 1600 books published during the current year and the two previous years.
Registration is required to access SciFinder. Registration is available only to current K-State students, staff and faculty. To register, click the “register for an account” link above. If you need assistance, please Ask A Librarian.
SciFinder (also referred to as Chemical Abstracts online and SciFinder Scholar) is published by the American Chemical Society’s Chemical Abstracts service, and provides access to CAplus, MedLine, CASREACT, and the Registry database from Chemical Abstracts Service. Journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, a substance database and dissertations are included. Structure searching is also possible.
SpringerLink is a full-text database of journals, books, protocols, and eReferences published by Springer. K-State subscribes to the Computing and Biomedical and Life Sciences portions of the database. In addition to the newest information in these two sections, K-State has access to the historical archives of all the sections of the database. A wide range of subjects, ranging from sciences to the humanities, are covered.
Search a collection of evaluated data on organic and inorganic substances in all areas of physical sciences (chemistry and physics) and engineering, updated quarterly. Data is organized into 12 subject areas: Particles, Nuclei and Atoms; Molecules and Radicals; Electronic Structure and Transport; Magnetism; Semiconductivity; Superconductivity; Crystallography; Thermodynamics; Multiphase Systems; Advanced Materials; Advanced Technologies; Astro- and Geophysics. It provides information on inorganic solid phases, thermophysical properties, and chemical safety. The chemical safety information includes documents from REACH, GHS, RoHS, and WEEE.
A collection of electronic books that synthesize an important research or development topics. Organized by series, primarily focused on electrical engineering, computer engineering, and biomedical engineering.
TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide and is comprised of the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development’s (OECD) Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.
Indexes technical and scientific literature on water-related topics such as the characteristics, supply, conservation, engineering, and legal aspects of water resources. Includes abstracts from journals, books, proceedings, and reports.
Online version of the three Citation Indexes: Science, Social Sciences, and Arts and Humanities. In addition to searching by keyword, subject, author, etc. for articles in over 8,000 journals, one can do a “cited reference” search to see how frequently and where an article has been cited.