Published by the Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library at Columbia University, this databases offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Article descriptions cover American and international journals from scholarly and popular periodical literature, publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and the major serials on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
You are browsing Architecture, Planning and Design
Most Important Databases
A growing digital image library offering searchable collections of images and descriptive information, encompassing many time periods and world cultures. Includes objects relevant to fields such as architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, history and ethnographic and women’s studies, and addresses many other forms of visual culture. Best viewed in Internet Explorer. Enable browser pop-ups in order to use all the features of ARTstor.
Addresses “art” in the broadest sense including topics relevant to archaeology, architecture, art history, ceramics, fashion design, graphic arts, interior design, landscape architecture, metalsmithing, photography, sculpture, textiles and more. Includes content from international arts journals, periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.
Other Helpful Databases
Ageline exclusively focuses upon the population aged 50 and over, containing indexes, abstracts, books, journals, research reports, and consumer guides on the following topics: theories of aging, Social Security, Medicare/Medicaid, marketing to older adults, elder care, Alzheimer’s disease, health care costs and policy, financial and retirement planning, fitness, nutrition, and more.
Includes more than 400 core English-language scientific and technical publications pertaining to physical science and engineering. Provides citations and abstracts.
Archivision is a core collection of images related to architecture including Egyptian, Greek, Roman, Medieval, Islamic, Renaissance, and Modern sites, gardens, parks, and works of art.
Includes documentaries, interviews, and critical analysis on art and architecture from the Renaissance, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Modern, and Contemporary time periods, placing emphasis on art history, theory, architecture, and graphic design. A key feature is the Michael Blackwood Film Collection, a series of internationally acclaimed documentaries covering innovations in art and architecture.
Provides citations and abstracts from 1975-2007 for articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition catalogs, focusing on European and American art from late antiquity to the present. This bilingual database encompasses writings on the visual arts including traditional fine arts (ceramics, drawing, painting, prints, sculpture, etc.), architecture and industrial design, and decorative and applied arts (crafts, folk art, graphic arts, etc.). For material published after 2007 see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA) database.
Authoritative resource for reliable information on sustainable design strategies, green building materials, and case studies of high performance buildings.
CAB Abstracts contains the citations and abstracts for articles in thousands of English and foreign language journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, theses, and patents. Disciplines covered are agriculture; environmental sciences; health and nutrition; microbiology and parasitology; and recreation, leisure, and tourism. Global Health contains public health information from the community level to the international level. Topics include bacterial, viral and prion diseases; parasitology; disease vectors; zoonotic diseases; nutrition and food safety; social science and health service; medicinal plants; environmental and rural health.
The electronic version of Engineering Index, Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research available today, containing over eight million references and abstracts taken from over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports dating back to 1969.
Coverage of the environmental sciences from scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, books, and government publications. Includes agricultural biotechnology, air quality, ecology, energy resources, environmental engineering, environmental impact statements, hazardous waste, pollution, and toxicology & toxic emissions.
Find information on ergonomics and human factors as well as related material from psychology, physiology, biomechanics, job design, human-computer interaction, safety science, human engineering, medicine, occupational health, sport, and transport. Contains more than 104,000 records.
This is a multidisciplinary, international database of human and physical geography, ecology, geology, oceanography, geomechanics and development studies. Includes refereed papers, trade journals, and magazine articles.
Covers the world’s technical literature on geology and geophysics from 13,000 serials, U.S. Geological Survey publications, and dissertations. Corresponds to the print publications Bibliography and Index of Geology, Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America, Bibliography and Index of North American Geology, and Geophysical Abstracts.
Medicine, health, and alternative medicine topics are covered. Provides access to medical journal and magazine articles, a medical encyclopedia, and dictionary. Directories of medical organizations and drugs are provided along with a health assessment tool.
Provides citations and abstracts from 2008-present for articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition catalogs, focusing on European and American art from late antiquity to the present. This bilingual database encompasses writings on the visual arts including traditional fine arts (ceramics, drawing, painting, prints, sculpture, etc.), architecture and industrial design, and decorative and applied arts (crafts, folk art, graphic arts, etc.). This resource is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art database; for materials published from 1975 through 2007 see the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) database.
Critically evaluate and compare journals in the sciences and social sciences using citation data from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals. Use JCR to find the most frequently cited journals, and measure research influence through impact factor, aggregate impact factor, the aggregate immediacy index, aggregated cited half-life, and the number of articles in each category.
A full-text collection of more than 550 core journals ranging from history to business to literature to science and mathematics. Coverage begins with the first issue of a title, but the most recent three to five years of each title are usually not available. The full article text is searchable.
A database of contemporary materials used in industry, construction, and other aspects of life. It provides information about the properties of the materials, current uses, their producers and places of production.
Formerly Grove Art Online, this is the definitive encyclopedia for the arts and design. This portal to Oxford art reference products includes cross-referenced articles and links to art images in galleries and museums. Articles are scholarly and include bibliographic references. This database contains Grove Art Online (the entire text of The Dictionary of Art), The Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and is continually updated.
This is a good starting point for finding journal articles on almost any topic. Over 150 academic subject areas are covered, and most articles are full-text. Searches can be limited to scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.
Consists of large-scale plans of cities and towns in Kansas, Nebraska, Missouri, Oklahoma and Colorado. In addition to street names and location of buildings, the maps also include details such as the construction materials and function of buildings, property boundaries, railroads, wells, etc. Because the key is very detailed it may take some time to load onto the screen.
SpringerLink is a full-text database of journals, books, protocols, and eReferences published by Springer. K-State subscribes to the Computing and Biomedical and Life Sciences portions of the database. In addition to the newest information in these two sections, K-State has access to the historical archives of all the sections of the database. A wide range of subjects, ranging from sciences to the humanities, are covered.
TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide and is comprised of the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development’s (OECD) Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.
Urban Land Institute Development Case Studies provide examples of successful building projects and project data, including budgetary expenditures, floor plans, designer information, and methodology. Processes and retrospective analysis are also available to help users think critically about design and implementation.
Indexes technical and scientific literature on water-related topics such as the characteristics, supply, conservation, engineering, and legal aspects of water resources. Includes abstracts from journals, books, proceedings, and reports.
Simultaneously search Biological Abstracts, CAB Abstracts, Global Health, Food Science and Technology Abstracts, and the Web of Science Core Collection. Formerly known as Web of Knowledge.
Online version of the three Citation Indexes: Science, Social Sciences, and Arts and Humanities. In addition to searching by keyword, subject, author, etc. for articles in over 8,000 journals, one can do a “cited reference” search to see how frequently and where an article has been cited.
Provides information about books, serials, videos, and other items cataloged by libraries around the world, including K-State. Each of the more than 57 million records contains information regarding which libraries hold the item. Click on the item title to access the GetIT link.